Our History

GEA-NUS Pharmaceutical Processing Research Laboratory (GEA-NUS PPRL) was established in April 1997 in the Department of Pharmacy, National University of Singapore under the auspices and support of the National Science and Technology Board (currently known as A*STAR), National University of Singapore and the GEA Group of Companies. Under the leadership of Associate Professors Paul Wan Sia Heng and Chan Lai Wah, we have since progressed to a renowned pharmaceutical research centre in the region.

Since 2000/2001, Dr. Celine Valeria Liew has come on board the leadership team in GEA-NUS PPRL and adds her research expertise in the fields of rotary processing, wet granulation and particle coating to our group. This was followed by Dr. Hao Jinsong with expertise in transdermal drug delivery and Dr. Wong Tin Wui in melt pelletization. Together with the trusted assistance of three laboratory officers: Mrs Teresa Ang, Ms. Wong Mei Yin and Mr Peter Leong, GEA-NUS PPRL has systematically coordinated our research and academic activities.


Opening Ceremony on 21 November 1998

Invitation to GEA-NUS Opening Ceremony


  GEA-NUS Members in 1998

GEA-NUS PPRL was renovated in 2007. Upon the finish of renovation, GEA-NUS PPRL 10th Anniversary Commemorative Pharmaceutical Technology Conference was held between 17-19 December 2007


GEA-NUS re-opening ceremony in December 2007

Staff, student and alumina of GEA-NUS PPRL in December 2007